Chocolate Drizzle Peanut Butter Pumpkin Cookies

Are you honestly surprised? Honestly? Wait, you actually are? Then you don’t know me at all. If you did, you’d know that when a recipe involves chocolate and peanut butter, I instantly break out two sticks of butter in preparation. I should just start leaving butter out to soften every day. I hate waiting for butter to soften. The actual worst. That’s why I loved this recipe. You can use any temperature butter, because it’s melted! Genius!

But I actually stumbled upon this recipe from Jessica at How Sweet It Is early in the week before my baking preparations for Sandy began. As soon as the news hit that we should be expecting more than just some light rain, I sprinted the 2 feet that separates my normal spot on the couch and the kitchen and started making these. Well and I also needed to use up our eggs before the fridge shut off. And the heavy cream.

So I had the pumpkin granola, but I wanted to make sure I had some cookies to eat when the power was out. These were the perfect addition to the junk food I consumed during the week without power. Actually the were more than that, they were some of the greatest peanut butter cookies I’ve had thus far.

I actually forgot to add the pumpkin spice to the dough, so to make up for it, I added it into the chocolate drizzle. Still wonderfully delicious and pumpkiny, so if you happen to do the same thing, all is not lost! But I recommend following the recipe and not being a dumb-dumb like me.

Chocolate Drizzle Peanut Butter Pumpkin Cookies
Completely recreated from How Sweet It Is except for my mess-up, whoops

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
6 tablespoons creamy peanut butter, melted
1 cup loosely packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup pumpkin puree
1 large egg
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3-4 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 1/2 tablespoons heavy cream

Directions:

Melt peanut butter and butter in the microwave in 30 second intervals, until they are completely melted. Stir together until it is smooth.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, pumpkin spice and salt. Set aside.

In a larger bowl, whisk together butter, peanut butter, and sugars until smooth. Add in the pumpkin puree and egg, mixing together until smooth. Then stir in the vanilla extract. Add the dry ingredients into the wet in small batches. I like putting in a cup at a time and combining completely before adding in additional cups of dry ingredients. Once the dough comes together, stick in the fridge for 15-20 minutes, or don’t like me because I am lazy and wanted cookies A.S.A.P.

After you put the dough in the fridge, or sit and try not to eat the whole bowl, preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Roll the dough into balls that are slightly smaller than 1 inch. Place on a baking sheet about 2 inches apart and bake for 8-10 minutes or until brown. Remove and cool completely.

While the cookies are cooling, make the chocolate drizzle. Heat heavy cream in the microwave or on the stove just until warm. Add the chocolate to a separate bowl and pour the heavy cream over it. Mix together until it forms a ganache (it should be smooth and shiny). Place cookies on a cooling rack over some waxed paper. Drizzle the chocolate over the top and let the cookies sit for 30 minutes so the chocolate can firm up.

Then enjoy!

Let’s just say the batch did not make it very long.

Leave a comment