Cranberry Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits

Right now, at this very moment, I am sitting in my living room watching the most important Rutgers football game of my college career. Why, do you ask, am I sitting here instead of actually being at the game? Well to be completely honest, I had no idea that Rutgers vs. Louisville was such a big game. Not only because they are one of our rivals, but also because this game decides Rutgers football future.

What is that future? Yeah I have no idea. My knowledge of football, especially college football is limited. For as long as I have been at this school, Rutgers football has been less than entertaining, especially when the games were on a Saturday morning at 10 a.m. I enjoy my sleep.

But to be honest, the fact that I am not at this football game should not surprise you. I am notorious for participating in as few school events as I can get away with. I spend the time that other people are partaking in ice-breakers, studying because I’m a nerd. Again, this probably isn’t news to you. Actually, this semester I went out of my way to participate in something. I know your jaw just landed on the floor, pick it up and I will continue.

Meg, Paulina, and I went and saw Andy Cohen speak about his experiences and the struggle that it was for him to admit he was gay. He visited for Bullying Prevention Awareness Month. It was probably the only Rutgers-funded extra curricular that I not only enjoyed, but was humbled by. If you ever have the opportunity to hear him speak, I would advise you not to miss it. He is beyond hilarious and an inspiration.

But let’s get back to the food. I made the conscious decision to purchase a 3 pound bag of cranberries because that was all my Wegman’s had, just for my cranberry sauce recipe. So any chance I get, I’ve been trying to make recipes using the rest of my huge bag of cranberries. I found these Cranberry Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits from Jessica at How Sweet It Is and I knew these would be the perfect use for my cranberries. I actually tripled the amount she used, but if you find cranberries to be a bit too tart for you, I might reduce it down to between 2/3 cup and and 1 cup of cranberries.

Cranberry Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits
Adapted from How Sweet It Is

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
4 tablespoons brown sugar
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 sticks cold butter, cut into pieces
1 1/4 cup buttermilk
1 1/3 cup cranberries

Directions:
Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, salt, baking powder and soda, and whisk together. Using a pastry knife, cut the butter into the dry ingredients until the butter becomes roughly the size of peas. Add in the cranberries and buttermilk and stir until just combined. Make sure to overmix, it will make the biscuits very gummy.

Use 1/4 cup measuring cup to drop the batter onto a greased baking sheet. Shape the dough into biscuits. Or if you have a biscuit cutter, roll out the dough and cut into biscuits. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the biscuits are golden brown. Let cool and enjoy!

So Rutgers lost. This is a sad day for all of us.

4 thoughts on “Cranberry Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits

  1. No judgment on the fb games – seriously I went to one and not only was almost thrown up on, but also got to witness two individuals attempting to disrobe each other in the seat next to me on the shuttle to the stadium. >_< Being a nerd beats that any (and every) day.

    LOVE these biscuits though! Sad day for Rutgers, but happy day for me and my tummy 🙂 heehee

    • Thank you! They are beyond delicious, I really can’t stop eating them. And I agree, being a nerd is the best. If the fact that staying inside reduces my chances of getting into those messes then it’s a no-brainer!

Leave a comment