Green Monster Smoothie

Do you ever have those weeks when you just do not have an appetite? It’s not because you’re sick, you just aren’t hungry. Hunger does not come, but your stomach grumbles like an angry beast so you have to feed it to keep it at bay. Don’t respond to that.

I’m pretty sure that this is happening because I am completely stressed out thanks to this semester. Actually, I’m completely convinced it’s because of this. Stress for me takes it’s form in two polar opposites; either I devour anything and everything in sight, or I just don’t feel like eating.

On the days I eat everything, I really mean I CAN EAT EVERYTHING. No food is safe from me. “Hide yo’ chips, hide yo’ baked goods, ’cause I’ll be eating everything.” If I was having one of THOSE stressful weeks, I probably would have continued to eat those not-so-attractive sandwiches I made the other day.

But not this week, this week is a “tame the wild stomach beast” only. Which brings me to this smoothie. I’ve heard many surprising tidbits about these Green Monster Smoothies online and had always wanted to try one, but I’m normally too hungry and no shake can satisfy my appetite. But with my lack of hunger, I found this recipe to be the perfect solution to my need to eat, to live. Just to live.

Also, you can change any of the fruits in this recipe (besides the banana) with anything you like, but just don’t use too many red fruits. It will make your smoothie look very brown and unappetizing. I’m not speaking from experience here.

Green Monster Smoothie
Redux of Maria’s at Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients:
1 large orange, peeled and segmented
1/2 of a frozen banana
6 strawberries
2 cups spinach
1/3 cup plain yogurt
1 cup ice
3/4 – 1 cup of your favorite juice or milk

Directions:
Start by freezing your banana a few hours in advance. I learned this from Jessica at How Sweet It Is. It made the smoothie the perfect consistency.

Then just add all the ingredients to a blender and blend until smooth. As for the juice, if you prefer your smoothie to be more like a “frozen ice” then go with juice. If you prefer it to be creamier, add milk!

Just don’t add too many red fruits, I can’t stress this enough.

Leave a comment